

TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

Dr. Jafus Kenyatta Cavil, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. Carla Brailey, Temporary Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Mammo Woldie, Parliamentarian

MONTHLY MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, April 5, 2018

3:00 PM

Hannah Hall, Room 111

Presiding Senator

Dr. Jafus Kenyatta Cavil Chair, College of Education

Senate Members Present

Brailey, Carla Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences (via phone)

Brown-Burton, Rockell Senator, School of Communication

Griesinger, Nancy
Handy, Carlos
Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Kazakos, Demetrios
Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Lancaster, Iris
Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences
Loudd, Grace
Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences

Lowe, Jeffrey Senator, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs (via phone)

Maldonado, Edward (SpearIt) Senator, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Nwagwu, Emmanuel Senator, College of Education

Perez-Feliciano, Luis Faculty Speaks Editor, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Regis, Humphrey Senator, School of Communication Reynolds, Lacey Senator, College of Education Thoreson, Claire Senator, The Graduate School

Woldie, Mammo Senator Parliamentarian, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Wu, Edieth Vice Chair, Thurgood Marshall School of Law Yousefipour, Zivar Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Senate Members / Colleges Not in Attendance

Abobo, Cyril Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Bell, Edward Senator, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences

Ibitayo, Olurominiyi Senator Treasurer, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Ojode, Lucy Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Saneifard, Rasoul Senator Secretary, College of Science, Engineering and Technology

Tai, Chu-Sheng Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Senate Counsel Not in Attendance

Walker, April Faculty Senate General Counsel, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Guest(s) from Faculty Assembly or University

Adams, Daniel Professor, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences

Williams, Johnnie Professor, Jesse H. Jones School of Business



TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

Dr. Jafus Kenyatta Cavil, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. Carla Brailey, Temporary Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Mammo Woldie, Parliamentarian

Call to Order

Senate Chair Jafus Kenyatta Cavil called the April 2018 monthly meeting of the TSU Faculty Senate to order at 3:15 p.m. on Thursday, April 5, 2018.

Approval of the March 2018 Senate Meeting Minutes

The minutes from the March 1, 2018 meeting were reviewed, and Faculty Senate Chair Jafus Kenyatta Cavil called for a motion to approve the minutes. Senator Vice Chair Edieth Wu suggested corrections to the statement of votes for confirming Senator Carla Brailey as temporary secretary. Senator Grace Loudd requested the name of her school is corrected. Senator Zivar Yousefipour motioned to accept the minutes with the suggested by Senators Wu and Loudd. Senator Emmanuel Nwagwu seconded the minutes to include the suggested modifications. The motion carried with one abstention.

Status Reports from the Faculty Senate

2017-2018 Attendance Report for Faculty Senators: Submitted an updated report for informational purposes only to the Senate for its review and/or suggestions.

Announcements from the Chair

Faculty Senate Chair J. Kenyatta Cavil: Shared updates regarding the initial President's Council on Equity commenced by President Lane with the goal of addressing equity issues and ensure an equitable work environment at this university.

Guests

Dr. Daniel Adams: As Chair of the Faculty Excellence and Awards committee he announced the names of the current members serving the committee and he described its charge in detail and the number of awards it is responsible for. Dr. Adams also shared the committee's activities thus far and he mentioned that it is also charged with reviewing applications for sabbatical. Several Senators discussed their concerns regarding how sabbaticals are awarded. Senate Chair Cavil stated that he will request sabbaticals as an agenda item for discussion at the President's Cabinet.

Senators discussed their concerns regarding its request to the Board to form a taskforce in relation to implementing a tobacco-free campus

Dr. Johnnie Williams: Presented a proposal on a tobacco-free campus. Dr. Williams discussed statistics on the causes of deaths, demographics regarding tobacco use among adults and young adults in the United States. Furthermore, Dr. Williams provided overviews of the risks of smokers and non-smokers. Additionally, she discussed agencies and other municipalities in the State of Texas have implemented smoke-free policies. She suggested several options and strategies that can lead Texas Southern University to becoming a tobacco-free campus. Senator Rockell Brown Burton moved with a taskforce to explore possibilities of a smoke-free and



TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

Dr. Jafus Kenyatta Cavil, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. Carla Brailey, Temporary Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Mammo Woldie, Parliamentarian

tobacco-free campus. Motion seconded by Senator Grace Loudd. Faculty Senate Chair Cavil proposed to amend the motion to send Dr. Williams' presentation to faculty-at-large in order to receive a vote and garner support from the assembly. Furthermore, Vice Chair Wu commented that in the essence of time as the Faculty Senate are in a position to determine whether or not this body supports this initiative because each senator of this body represents their constituents. Several Senators discussed the most appropriate strategy to move forward with its request to the Board of Regents to consider forming and implementing a taskforce to develop a tobacco-free campus environment. The motion carried unanimously with no opposing votes.

Old Business

Senator Rockell Brown Burton: Expounded that the topic of limitations of teaching 50-minute classes. She stated that there is more feasible to have classes meet Mondays and Wednesdays, Wednesdays and Fridays and Tuesdays and Thursdays, in order to reduce the frustrations with teaching schedules. Additionally, she discussed challenges she has experienced with completing research, teaching stating the one hour and 15 minutes is more conducive to accomplish teaching activities during class time. Senate Chair Cavil suggested a study is conducted to explore these options. Several senators discussed suggestions to these proposals.

Faculty Senate Chair Cavil: Announced the following senators: J. Kenyatta Cavil, Reynolds, Edward Bell, Luis Perez-Feliciano, Claire Thoreson, Iris Lancaster, Carlton Perkins and Nana Asare, agreed to serve on the committee to review and update senate bylaws. He stated that he intends to move forward by activating the committee.

Senator Claire Thoreson: Discussed and identified her concern with the language in Section 5.1 Workload Priority. Senator Thoreson and several senators agreed that the language is ambiguous and considered that it could be left up to an individual's interpretation, which can be problematic.

New Business

None.

Adjournment of Meeting

Senator Mammo Woldie: Motioned to adjourn the meeting. Senator Carlos Handy seconded the motion.

Meeting adjourned at 4:59 p.m.

Minutes prepared by: Mrs. La Shanta Gill-May, Program Coordinator of the Faculty Senate