

TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

Dr. Jafus Kenyatta Cavil, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. Carla Brailey, Interim Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Mammo Woldie, Parliamentarian

MONTHLY MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, May 3, 2018 3:00 PM Hannah Hall, Room 111

Presiding Senator Dr. Jafus Kenyatta Cavil

Chair, College of Education

Senate Members Present

Abobo, Cyril Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Bell, Edward Senator, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences Interim Secretary, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences (via phone) Brailey, Carla Senator, School of Communication Brown-Burton, Rockell Griesinger, Nancy Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology Handy, Carlos Ibitayo, Olurominiyi Senator Treasurer, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs Kazakos, Demetrios Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology Lancaster. Iris Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences Loudd, Grace Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences Lowe, Jeffrey Senator, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs (via phone) Nwagwu, Emmanuel Senator, College of Education Ojode, Lucy Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business Perez-Feliciano, Luis Faculty Speaks Editor, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs Senator, School of Communication Regis, Humphrey Reynolds, Lacey Senator, College of Education Thoreson, Claire Senator, The Graduate School Woldie, Mammo Senator Parliamentarian, Jesse H. Jones School of Business Wu, Edieth Vice Chair, Thurgood Marshall School of Law Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Yousefipour, Zivar

Senate Members / Colleges Not in Attendance

Maldonado, Edward (SpearIt)	Senator, Thurgood Marshall School of Law
Saneifard, Rasoul	Senator Secretary, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
Tai, Chu-Sheng	Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Senate Counsel in Attendance Walker, April

Faculty Senate General Counsel, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Guest(s) from Faculty Assembly or University

Adams, Daniel	Professor, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences
Williams, Johnnie	Professor, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Call to Order

C = Comments, R = Response, and Q = Question



TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

Dr. Jafus Kenyatta Cavil, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. Carla Brailey, Interim Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Mammo Woldie, Parliamentarian

Senate Chair Dr. Jafus Kenyatta Cavil, called the May 4, 2018 meeting of the TSU Faculty Senate to order at 3:20 pm on Thursday, April 5, 2018.

Approval of the April 2018 Senate Meeting Minutes

The minutes from April 5, 2018 meeting were reviewed. Comments made regarding Equity and Gender Committee, were not correctly reflected in minutes. A motion was made by Senator Edieth Wu and by another Faculty Senator with an addendum subject of any modification sent by emails to Senator Secretary Kenyatta Cavil.

<u>Status Report</u>

Mrs. Gill-May asked that minutes be moved back and to move forward with Dr. Carla Brailey taking minutes while she is on FMLA.

Announcement

C: Senate Chair J. Kenyatta Cavil: Opened the meeting by announcing Faculty Award Winners and all faculty that were recognized for their service McCleary Teaching Excellence Award, Dr. Rodney Hunter, College of Pharmacy and Health Science, Department of Pharmacy; Dr. Jason ???, College of Science and Engineering Technology, Department of Biology; and Dr. Momo?, College of Science, Engineering and Technology, Environmental Disciplinary Science.

C: Senate Chair J. Kenyatta Cavil: Action Report coming out with things over the semester tomorrow. C: Senate Chair J. Kenyatta Cavil: Dr. Rasoul Saneifard tendered his resignation.

C: Two items were requested to be added to agenda under old business. First item, continuation forming a committee request by SOPA Dean Search Committee.

C: Extended discussion by all about the investigation and whether to move to have a motion to discuss the matter again.

Announcement of Meeting

Senator Carlos Handy: Motioned to adjourn the meeting. Senator Mammo Woldie seconded the motion.

Meeting adjourned at 5:35p.m.

Minutes prepared by: Dr. Carla Brailey, Interim Secretary of the Faculty Senate