Texas Southern University

Department Chairs' Council Monday, October 22, 2012 4:00 p.m.

Hannah Hall Conference Room 111

AGENDA

Welcome	
	Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Academic and Faculty Affairs
> Repo	ort from the Faculty Senate
o T	BD
> Repo	ort on the New Core Curriculum and the work of the General Education
Subc	ommittee
0 P	rof. Arbolina Jennings, Associate Director, Quality Enhancement Plan and Co-
C	Chair, General Education Subcommittee
> Repo	ort on Undergraduate Program Review
о Б	r. Raijanel Crockem, Interim Executive Director, Institutional Assessment,
P	lanning & Effectiveness
> Repo	ort on the Lumina Foundation Project
o P	rof. Arbolina Jennings
Associate Pi	rovost Updates
• Com	mencement Best Practices Research
• UCC	Proposals and Processes

DEPARTMENT CHAIRS' COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

Monday, October 22, 2012

4:00 p.m.

Hannah Hall 111

Council Chair

Dr. Elizabeth Brown-Guillory, Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Academic and Faculty Affairs

Council Members Present

Dr. Michael Berryhill Chair, Journalism, School of Communication

Dr. Jeff Brice, Jr. Interim Chair, Business Administration, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Dr. Shanna Broussard Interim Chair, Counseling, College of Education

Dr. Dwalah Fisher Interim Chair, Health and Kinesiology, College of Education
Dr. Cherry Gooden Chair, Curriculum & Instruction, College of Education
Dr. Jean Hampton Chair, Health Sciences, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences

Dr. Jessie E. Horner

Interim Chair, Industrial Technologies, College of Science and Technology

Dr. Zahid Iqbal

Interim Chair, Industrial Technologies, College of Science and Technology

Dr. Franklin Jones

Chair, Political Science, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Prof. Richard Lee

Interim Chair, Music, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Wei Li

Interim Chair, Computer Science, College of Science and Technology

Dr. Dong Liang

Chair, Pharmaceutical Sciences, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences

Dr. Shirley Nealy Chair, Human Services & Consumer Sciences, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Inyang N. Osemene Chair, Pharmacy Practice, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences
Dr. Yi Qi Interim Chair, Transportation Studies, College of Science and Technology

Dr. Azime Saydam Chair, Mathematics, College of Science and Technology

Dr. Haiqing Sun Interim Chair, Foreign Languages, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences
Dr. Sarah G. Trotty Interim Chair, Visual and Performing Arts, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Arthur Whaley Chair, Psychology, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences Dr. Warren Williams Interim Chair, Biology, College of Science and Technology

Dr. Cary D. Wintz Interim Chair, History & Geography, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences

Council Members Absent with Representation

Dr. Danita Bailey-Perry Interim Chair, Educational Administration & Foundations, College of Education, represented by Dr.

 $Bernnell\ Peltier-Glaze,\ Assistant\ Professor,\ Educational\ Administration\ \&\ Foundations,\ College\ of\ Peltier-Glaze,\ Assistant\ Professor,\ Educational\ Administration\ \&\ Foundations,\ College\ of\ Peltier-Glaze,\ Professor,\ Professor,$

Education

Dr. Needha Boutté-Queen Chair, Social Work, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences, represented by Dr. Catheryn Longino,

Assistant Professor, Director of Field Education, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Kenneth Jackson Interim Chair, Sociology, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences, represented by Dr. Catheryn

Longino, Assistant Professor, Director of Field Education, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Oisheng Pan Chair, Urban Planning & Environmental Policy, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs,

represented by Ms. Sheila Taylor, Senior Administrative Assistant

Dr. Christian Ulasi Interim Chair, Radio, Television and Film, School of Communication, represented by Dr. Michael Berryhill,

Chair, Journalism, School of Communication

Council Members Absent

Dr. Carlos Handy Chair, Physics, College of Science and Technology

Dr. David Olowokere Chair, Engineering Technologies, College of Science and Technology

Dr. Ihekwoaba Onwudiwe Chair, Administration of Justice, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Dr. Ronald C. Samples Interim Chair, English, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences

Dr. John B. Sapp Chair, Chemistry, College of Science and Technology

Others Present

Dr. Raijanel Crockem Interim Executive Director, Institutional Assessment, Planning & Effectiveness

Prof. Arbolina Jennings Associate Director, Quality Enhancement Plan and Co-Chair, General Education Subcommittee

Dr. Vera Walker Hawkins Vice Chair, Faculty Senate

Ms. Tiffany Vaughner Office Administrator to Associate Provost Brown-Guillory

Opening

The meeting of the Department Chairs' Council was called to order at 4:00 p.m. by Associate Provost Brown-Guillory. She moved that the minutes from the previous meeting be approved. Dr. Cary Wintz motioned to approve the minutes; it was seconded by Dr. Azime Saydam.

A. Report from the Faculty Senate

• Dr. Vera Walker Hawkins, Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate, spoke to the council about several concerns facing the senate, including continuing talks with the provost and president concerning faculty equity and merit pay raises.

B. Report from the New Core Curriculum and the work of the General Education Subcommittee

 Prof. Arbolina Jennings, Associate Director of the Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) and Co-Chair of the General Education Subcommittee, updated the council on the changes to the core curriculum, namely the change from a 44 hour core to a 42 hour core curriculum. She also informed the council that she and co-chair Dr. Aladdin Sleem would be overseeing the reconstitution of the subcommittee.

C. Report on Undergraduate Program Review

• Dr. Crockem spoke to the council about the upcoming program review cycle and her office's plan to conduct orientations for all department CBA's, department chairs and deans for each affected college/school.

D. Report on the Lumina Foundation Project

 Professor Jennings informed the council of TSU's participation in a pilot program conducted by the Lumina Foundation. The study seeks to determine if degree programs offered at American universities are on par with those offered in other parts of the world, specifically the European Union.

E. Commencement Best Practices Research

Dr. Brown-Guillory shared with the council her office's findings on commencement best
practices at selected universities. She said the information collected had been passed to Provost
Ohia and President Rudely for their review.

F. UCC Proposals and Processes

• Dr. Brown-Guillory reviewed the current proposal submission process with the council, going through the routing steps from the department to the final submission to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB).

Adjournment:

Dr. Wei Li moved to adjourn the meeting, and it was seconded by Dr. Michael Berryhill. The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 pm. The next meeting of the Department Chairs' Council is scheduled for Monday, December 3, 2012 at 4:00pm in the Hannah Hall Conference Room 111.

Minutes Submitted by: Ms. Tiffany Vaughner

Approved by: Associate Provost Elizabeth Brown-Guillory