Texas Southern University will celebrate EXCELLENCE - with a Tribute to 10 Outstanding Graduates

2012 Honorees

This year, on November 2nd, at the Westin Galleria Hotel - Texas Southern University will celebrate EXCELLENCE - with a tribute to 10 outstanding graduates of its distinguished colleges and schools. Dr. John Rudley will award presidential awards to graduates of Texas Southern who have made outstanding contributions to the university on a national stage and who have distinguished themselves in their respective fields.

The 10 graduates and the colleges and schools they will represent are: Honorees for 2012 are listed in alphabetical order and include; Dr. Felicia Conley, Forensic chemist, Department of Drug Enforcement, Dallas, TX, TSU’s Graduate School honoree; Kermit Crawford, President, Walgreens Pharmacies, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences; Dr. Bettie Jean Graham, National Institutes of Health Program Director, College of Sciences and Technology; Deidra Fontaine, United Airlines Director of Diversity and Inclusion, Jesse H. Jones School of Business; Dr. Michael Steven Hunte, Methodist Dallas Medical Center Emergency Room Physician, TSU’s Dr. T.F. Freeman Honors College; Bernadine Oliphant, Internationally Acclaimed Opera Singer, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences; Dr. Carroll Thomas, Beaumont Independent School Superintendent, College of Education; Senfronia Thompson, Texas State Representative, Thurgood Marshall School of Law; Patrick Trahan, Exxon/Mobil Chalmette Refining L.L.C’s Public & Government Affairs Manager, School of Communication; and Rocky Williform, Hip Hop Blog Chief Executive Officer, Barbara Jordan/Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs.

Sponsorship, table and additional information is available by calling the Tiger Homecoming Hotline at 713-313-1111. The date again for the Live 85 - Legends and Leaders Presidential Scholarship Gala is Friday, November 2nd at 6 p.m. at the Westin Galleria Hotel. More details are available at WWW.TSU.EDU/85