Division of Academic Affairs and Research
Division of Academic Affairs and Research


Dr Bobby WilsonI am pleased to welcome you to the Division of Academic Affairs and Research at Texas Southern University. The Provost serves as the chief academic officer of the university reporting directly to the President.

The Provost also has administrative oversight for research/scholarly activities, Libraries/Museums, Student Success Services and Institutional Assessment, Planning and Effectiveness on campus. Academic programs are offered in ten colleges and schools: College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences, Jesse H. Jones School of Business, College of Education, College of Continuing Education, The Graduate School, Thurgood Marshall School of Law, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, School of Science and Technology, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs and the School of Communications.

Together, these colleges and schools offer 53 baccalaureate degree programs, 36 master’s degree programs, three Doctor of Philosophy degree programs and three professional doctoral degrees in education, law and pharmacy. The wide variety of academic program offerings gives our diverse student body an excellent opportunity to learn from over 500 full-time dedicated faculty.

You are welcome to explore our academic programs of study and to contact my office if the need arises. Thank you.

TSU Home Page
Division of Academic Affairs and Research Organizational Chart
Opening Faculty Meeting Archive

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Bobby Wilson, Ph. D.


(713) 313-1137

Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Academic and Faculty Affairs




Associate Provost / Associate Vice President for Research




Office Administrator to the Provost

Dwain Nared



Executive Assistant to the Provost

Sharon Sanders


(713) 313-7054

Executive Director of Provost Business Services

Charles Henry


(713) 313-4343

Executive Director of the Office of Continuing Education

Melanie Lawson, Ph.D.


(713) 313-7762

Director of Center for Online Education and Instructional 

Remi Ademola


(713) 313-4835

Director, Academic Retention Services & Special Assistant to the Provost

Lori LaBrie


(713) 313-7040

Executive Assistant to the Provost 

Cynthia Williams


(713) 313-1136

Interim Dean, School of Communication

 Reza Poudeh, Ph.D. Poudeh_RJ@tsu.edu  (713)-313-7758

Interim Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences

Merline Pitre, Ph.D.  pitre_mx@tsu.edu  (713)-313-7795 

Interim Dean, College of Science, Engineering, and Technology

John B. Sapp, Ph.D.  sapp_jb@tsu.edu  (713)-313-7831

Interim Dean, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences

Shirlette Milton, Ph.D.  milton_sg@tsu.edu   (713)-313-7551

Dean, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Michael Adams, Ph.D. Adams_MO@tsu.edu  (713)-313-6849 

Dean, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

James Douglas, JD jdouglas@tmslaw.tsu.edu  (713)-313-7388 

Interim Dean, Thomas F. Freeman Honors College

Elizabeth Brown-Guillory, Ph.D.  Brown-GuilloryE@tsu.edu   (713)-313-1180

Interim Dean, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

 John H. Williams, Ph.D.  Williams_JH@tsu.edu (713)-313-7310 

Dean, The Graduate School

 Gregory H. Maddox, Ph.D. Maddox_GH@tsu.edu  (713)-313-7889 

Dean, Roderick E. Paige College of Education

Lillian B. Poats, Ph.D.   Poats_LB@tsu.edu  (713)-313-7978