TSU College of Education Earns Landmark Accreditation

TSU College of Education Earns Landmark Accreditation

The Texas Southern University College of Education is listed among some of the most prestigious colleges and universities in the nation after receiving an accreditation from the largest accrediting body in the country.

The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) has given TSU the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) accreditation until Spring 2022.

TSU College of Education met all of the CAEP standards in undergraduate and graduate programs with no areas for improvement.

The accreditation will make it easier for TSU graduates to earn board certification through the new National Board of Professional Teaching Standards.

"We met the target level of excellence in Clinical Practice and Field Experiences for undergraduate teaching major," stated Dr. Lillian Poats, dean of TSU College of Education. "The TSU faculty and staff in the College of Education are honored to have achieved this milestone."

There are currently 623 schools accredited by NCATE including Stanford, Texas A&M and Southern Utah State.



Photo Credit: Earlie Hudnall

College of Education professors who worked tirelessly to earn this accreditation are first row, from left, Dr. Lacey Reynolds (Associate Professor & Interview Coordinator for Educator Preparation Program), Michelle Martin (College Business Administrator), Dr. Lillian Poats (Dean & Professor) and Dr. Dwalah Fisher (Associate Professor & Interim Department Chair, Health & Kinesiology);

 Second Row: Dr. Candy Ratliff (Assistant Professor & Interim Department Chair, Counseling), Dr. Viveca Grant(Assistant Professor & Coordinator of Admissions for Educator Preparation Program), Dr. Bernnell Peltier-Glaze (Associate Dean & Associate Professor) and Dr. Jafus Kenyatta Cavil (NCATE Assessment Coordinator & Associate Professor);

 Third Row: Dr. Ingrid Haynes (NCATE Coordinator & Department Chair, Curriculum & Instruction & Associate Professor), Dr. Jessica Davis (Assistant Dean & Assistant Professor) and Dr. Jacqueline Smith (Associate Professor).