HBCU Awards Net Two Winners

    Texas Southern’s own Michael Strahan and Jazzmin Parker were both honored at the HBCU Digest annual awards ceremony held July 11 at Dillard University in New Orleans.   

    Parker earned Female Athlete of the Year 2013-14 while Strahan was named Male Alumnus of the Year 2013-2014.  Other finalists from TSU included Dr. Merline Pitre for Female Faculty Member of the Year; Jesse H. Jones School of Business for Business School of the Year; Aaric Murray for Male Athlete of the Year; and Marquesha Freeman for Female Student of the Year. Nominations were made by TSU’s Office of Communications and Marketing.

    The awards ceremony was part of the 2014 HBCU Media Week Presented by Dillard University. The two-day conference drew more than 40 HBCU communications executives, faculty members, presidents, alumni officers and vice-presidents from HBCUs around the country. Highlights from the event included a remote Q&A session with national Craig Melvin, host and correspondent for MSNBC, and Roland Martin, host of NewsOne Now on the TV One network.