TSU Faculty Launch Houston Chapter of ASPA

The Houston Chapter of the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA) was recently approved by the headquarters in Washington D.C. TSU Political Science faculty, Dr. Sarmistha Majumdar, and Interim Chair, Dr. Michael Adams, played a major role in establishing this chapter in the Houston metropolitan area. They partnered with Dr. James Thurmond, Director of the Masters in Public Administration Program at University of Houston and Associate Professor, Dr. Robin Bittick in the Department of political science at Sam Houston State University in establishing the chapter.

The mission of this chapter is to advance the art and science of public administration in the Greater Houston Area, address the diverse needs of all people through public administration and bridge the communications gap between academicians and practitioners in order to improve public administration research and practice. With Dr. Majumdar being elected to serve as the ASPA Houston chapter’s president for a two—year term, the Political Science Department of TSU has been declared as the home of this chapter for the next two years. Its location in the Political Science Department will help to lend greater visibility to its Masters in Public Administration (MPA) and eMPA programs.

The chapter’s first kickoff meeting is being planned at TSU in November 2015. At this meeting, university officials, faculty, students, staff, local public administrators and prominent public figures would be invited to grace the occasion. For more information about the Department of Political Science and the Houston Chapter of ASPA, please contact Dr. Michael O. Adams, Interim Chair at 713.313.7760 or via e-mail at adams_mo@tsu.edu.