TSUNAA Complete $100,000 Scholarship Goal

    "Undivided We Will Stand by the Greatest in the Land," was the theme for the 2015 Texas Southern University National Alumni Association (TSUNAA) National Convention held July 30 - August 1, at the Westin Memorial Hotel in Houston, Texas. Ms. Corrie Williams of the Dallas Alumni Chapter served as convention chairman. Ms. Julia Askew serves as the president of the TSUNAA.

    The three-day event was filled with workshops and activities that renewed and re-energized the TSU Tiger Spirit and reminded alumni of their commitment to Texas Southern University.

    Dr. John M. Rudley, TSU President, and his cabinet informed alumni about the innovative academic programs and projects that the University is currently engaged in. The discussion was so lively that it continued during the Life Members luncheon in which the theme was "A Call to Action" for alumni. Ms. Crystal Owens, TSU Student Government Association President, was invited to participate in the discussion.

    Highlights of the convention included the National Alumni Association closing out their $100K Challenge by presenting President Rudley with a check for $60,000; a well-attended welcome reception, casino night, Life Member’s luncheon, and Excellence in Achievement Awards Gala, along with breakout sessions that educated all alumni.

    During the Excellence in Achievement Awards Gala, alumni were honored who are doing exemplary things in their respective professional fields and the community. TSU alumnus Rev.

    Manson Johnson of Holman Street Baptist Church gave the invocation. TSU alumna and Detroit AM 1200/99.9 FM WCHB radio personality Mildred Gladdis served as the mistress of ceremonies. Those outstanding alumni who were honored include: Bennie Brooks (Government), Barbara Clemons (Education), John Cochran Jr. (Athletics), Marilyn Doyle (Education), Booker Lynn Graves (Business), Cortez Hankton (Athletics) , Ron Julun (Community), Emiel Owens, Jr. (Science), TSU Regent Marilyn Rose (Community), Dr. Shawn Simmons (Engineering), and Reginald Thompson (Pharmacy & Religion).

    TSUNAA is committed to keeping alumni connected to the University and giving back.










    l-r – Connie Cochran, TSU Executive Director of Alumni Relations & Special Events; Etta McChristian, Chicago Alumni Chapter President; Dr. Frank North, Pharmacy & Health Sciences Alumni Chapter President; Elwaine Johnson, TSUNAA Parliamentarian; Julia Askew, TSUNAA President; Dr. John M. Rudley, Texas Southern University President; Keith Scott, TSUNAA Vice President of Finance; Paulette Mouton, TSUNAA Sergeant –at-Arms; Joyce Norfleet, Los Angeles Alumni Chapter President; Hilton LaSalle, College of Science, Engineering and Technology Alumni Chapter Vice President; Judy Jackson, Washington DC Alumni Chapter; and Corrie Williams, TSUNAA Convention and Membership Chairman present President Rudley with a check for $60,000, closing out the Alumni Association’s $100,000 Challenge for scholarships to TSU students.