Upward Bound Program

Target Schools

Upward Bound Officers 2013-2014

  • Karen Gonzalez – President
  • Brigid Gould – Past- President
  • DaVounte Cormer – Vice President
  • Giovanni Johnson – Secretary
  • Brandi Gould – Communication Representative
  • Charles Crooms – Chaplin
  • Alesha Rushing – Parent/Student Advocate
  • Curtis Ricks – Historian/Representative (Barbara Jordan)
  • Aaron Reese – Sergeant at Arms (Parliamentarian)
  • Marlen Coronado – Representative (Wheatley)
  • Javonte Woodson – Representative (Sterling)
  • Litroy Lambert – Mr. Upward Bound
  • Brandi Gould – Miss Upward Bound


  • Students who are interested in running for an office should submit a letter of intent five days prior to the start of elections. One day will be allocated for campaigning.
  • Students seeking the office of President should possess the following qualifications:
    • Completion of the eleventh (11) grade
    • Participation in the Upward Bound for no less than one (1) program cycle.
    • Grade Point average of 2.50 or above.
    • Should be in good "program standing".
  • The remaining student government offices are open to all students.
  • All elected officers are required to attend leadership training workshops. The workshops will cover the following:
    • How to conduct a meeting
    • How to reorganize a committee
    • Leadership styles
    • What it means to be an officer in the Upward Bound Program.