Faculty Profiles

Faculty Profiles information
Profiles
Dr. Daniel Adams Adams, Daniel
Professor
Composition/Graduate School Coordinator
D.M.A., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
M.M., University of Miami
B.M., Louisiana State University
Daniel.Adams@tsu.edu | 713-313-7524 |RSM #211
Alfred, Gwendolyn Alfred, Gwendolyn
Voice Area Coordinator, Assistant Professor
Voice
D.M.A., University of Houston 
M.M., Lamar University 
B.M., University of Houston  
Gwendolyn.Alfred@tsu.edu | 713-313-1385 |RSM #234
Allen, Tanya Allen, Tanya
Assistant Professor
Coordinator of Music Education
PhD., Florida State University (music education)
M.M.E.,Florida State University
B.A., University of New Orleans
Tanya.Allen@tsu.edu | 713-313-7326 
Cha, Jee Sook
Cha, Jee Sook
Adjunct Professor
Piano
D.M.A., University of Southern California 
M.M., University of Texas at Austin 
B.M., Busan Kyung Sung University
jee-sook.cha@tsu.edu | 713-313-7529 | RSM #241
Connor, David
Connor, David 
Instructor
Double Bass and Electric Bass 
M.M. Rice University 
B.F.A., Carnegie Mellon University
David.Connor@houstonsymphony.org 
Prof. Chris Gray Gray, Chris
Instructor
Assistant Band Director
M.M., Central Michigan University 
B.M., Norfolk State University
Chris.Gray@tsu.edu | 713-313-7336 | RSM #233
Grube Benjamin

Grube, Benjamin J. 
Instructor 
Violin and Viola / Director of Orchestras 
D.M.A., University of Houston (violin/viola) 
M.M., Texas Tech University 
B.M., Furman University
Benjamin.Grube@tsu.edu | 713-313-7363 | RSM #206

Prof. Richard Lee Lee, Richard
Associate Professor
Brass

M.M., Colorado State University
B.M.Ed., Texas Southern University
Richard.Lee@tsu.edu | 713-313-7336/4469 | RSM #207
Ariana Nelson Nelson, Ariana 
Instructor 
Cello

M.M., The Juilliard School 
B.M., Rice University
Ariana.Nelson50@gmail.com | 713-313-7337 | RSM #117
Oby, Jason Oby, Jason
Professor
Department Chair

D.M., Florida State University
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
Jason.Oby@tsu.edu | 713-313-7263 | RSM #237
Dr. Brian Perez Perez, Brian
Assistant Professor
Director of Jazz Ensembles - Woodwinds 
D.M.A., University of Maryland College Park
M.M., University of Miami Coral Gables
B.M., University of Minnesota, Duluth
Brian.Perez@tsu.edu | 713-313-7367| RSM #238
perkyns-jane.jpg Perkyns, Jane
Professor
Piano Area Coordinator

D.M.A., University of British Columbia
M.M., The Julliard School
B.M., Dalhousie University 
Jane.Perkyns@tsu.edu | 713-313-1037 | RSM #241
Rose, Edwin Rose, Edwin
Asst. Band Director/Media Specialist

M.B.A., American InterContinental University 
B.A., Texas Southern University
Edwin.Rose@tsu.edu | 713-313-7360 | RSM #209
Singleton, Darryl Singleton, Darryl
Interim Ocean of Soul Band Director
D.M.A., Boston University (music education)
M.M., Florida State  
B. M.E., Howard University
Darryl.Singleton@tsu.edu | 713-313-7192 | RSM #235
Ms. Kyla Smith Smith, Kyla 
Administrative Assistant  
Kyla.Smith@tsu.edu | 713-313-7337| RSM #112
White, LeTriel
White, LeTriel M. 
Adjunct Professor
Clarinet / Saxophone / Flute 
M.M., Rice University
B.M.E., Baylor University 
Kiana Williams

Williams, Kiana
Director of Choirs, Assistant Professor 
D.M.A., University of Houston(music education/choral conducting) 
M.M.E., Jackson State University (music education/voice)
B.M.E., Jackson State University (music education/piano) 
Kiana.Williams@tsu.edu | 713-313-7339 |RSM #210

Zidaru, Lucian Zidaru, Lucian
Associate Professor
Piano
D.M.A., Louisiana State University (piano performance/ theory) 
M.M., Southeastern Louisiana University (piano performance)
B.A., G. Enescu Conservatory of Music (piano performance/ chamber music)
Lucian.Zidaru@tsu.edu | 713-313-7334 | RSM #239