SOC Faculty Members

Chris C. Ulasi

Acting Dean, Radio, Television, Film / ERM Coordinator

  chris ulasi

An avid, published poet, currently writing a book about the Nigerian film industry. His book of poetry “Fragments of the Rainy Season” was published 2012.

More about Chris

(713) 313-7755

Serbino Sandifer-Walker,

Assistant Dean

  Kevin adams

Serbino is a proud graduate of Texas Southern University and the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, where I was named the Reader’s Digest Scholar.

More about Serbino

(713) 313-7749

Vera Walker-Hawkins

Interim Chair, Department of Journalism

  Michael Berryhill

Vera is an associate professor of journalism at Texas Southern University

More about Vera

(713) 313-7247

Toniesha Taylor,

Chair, Communication Studies

  dr toniesha taylor

Toniesha is Department Chair and Associate Professor of Communication in the Department of Communication Arts and Sciences, School of Communication at Texas Southern University.

More about Toniesha

(713) 313-7544

Dean's Office Staff

Fridah E. Mariki

Academic Affairs Project Coordinator

  fridah mariki

Using her detailed-oriented character and multi-tasking abilities, Ms. Mariki continuously strives to ensure excellence in academic services.

More about Fridah

(713) 313-7818

Linda F. Wynn

Senior Administrative Assistant

  linda wynn

Ms. Wynn currently serves as the liaison for the dean’s office, working with students, university and community relations.

More about Linda

(713) 313-7740