

Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, April 07, 2016 Hannah Hall, Room 111 3:00 PM

Senator Members Chair & Vice Chair

Dr. Rasoul Saneifard (Chair)

College of Science, Engineering and Technology

Dr. Edieth Wu (Vice Chair)

Senator, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Senate Members Present

Anga, Ahunanya Senator, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Asare, Nana Senator, College of Education

Caussinus, Marylise Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences

Cavil, J. Kenyatta Senator Secretary, College of Education

Chaudhuri, Nupur Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences

Georges-Abeyie, Daniel Senator, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Ghemri, Lila Senator, The Graduate School

Hollomon, Mario Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology Jemison Pollard, Dianne Senator, College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences

Ojode, Lucy Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Ibitayo, Olurominiyi Senator Treasurer, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs Perez-Feliciano, Luis Senator Editor, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Perkins, Carlton Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Reynolds, Lacey Senator, College of Education

Saneifard, Rasoul Senator Chair, College of Science, Engineering and Technology Tymczak, Christopher J. Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology

Woldie, Mammo Senator, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Wu, Edieth Senator Vice Chair, Thurgood Marshall School of Law Yousefipour, Zivar Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Senate Members / Colleges Not in Attendance

Abobo, Cyril Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Bell, Edward Senator, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Regis, Humphrey Senator, School of Communication

Thomas, Graham Senator, College of Science, Engineering and Technology Walker-Hawkins, Vera Senator Parliamentarian, School of Communication

Senate Members or Senate Counsel / Not in Attendance (Alternative Representative or Counsel)

Carrington, McKen Faculty Senate General Counsel, Thurgood Marshall School of Law



Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

Guest(s) from Faculty Assembly or University

Snowden, LaRence

Assistant Vice President for Development, Office of University Advancement

Call to Order

C = Comments, R = Response, and Q = Question

Senator Chair Rasoul Saneifard called the April 2016 meeting of the TSU Faculty Senate to order at 3:16 pm on Thursday, April 7, 2016.

Approval of the February 2016 Senate Meeting Minutes

The minutes from March 3rd, 2016 were reviewed. A motion was made by Senator Ahunanya Anga and seconded by Senator Christopher Tymczak as subject of any modification.

Announcement

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Opened the meeting with an announcement thanking faculty members whom have worked on university service committees.

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Opened the floor for faculty senate presidential search committee representatives. Senator Ahunanya Anga stated she attended all, but one of the open sessions for students, faculty, and the community. The meetings were not high in terms of participation, but the comments were important.

Discussion on floor by several Senators regarding the short window for applications

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Invited LaRence Snowden to announce the annual fundraising campaign.

Guest

C: LaRence Snowden: Announced the annual fundraising campaign. He would like our support. He stated that you can designate your contributions and if it not listed on the pledge card you can still designate where you want the funds to go.

Discussion on floor by several Senators regarding the annual fundraising campaign

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Stated President John Rudley commented that he has given scholarship money to students however he has not given to the Texas Southern annual fundraising campaign.

Discussion on floor by several Senators regarding the annual fundraising campaign regarding publishing of names that gave



Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Stated Provost Ward has been diligent in evaluating tenure and promotions than in the past.

Discussion on floor by several Senators on their concerns about the Tenure and Promotions process

C: Senate Editor Luis Perez-Feliciano: Motioned to censor the president. The motion was seconded by Senate Vice Chair Edieth Wu.

C: Senate Vice Chair Edieth Wu: Stated friendly amendment for a vote of no confidence on the president and the draft will only be reviewed by Faculty Senate members present for the vote.

C: Senate Secretary J. Kenyatta Cavil: Suggested we take this motion to the Faculty Assembly before we issue this statement and take a vote.

Discussion on floor by several Senators on Motion to Censor and/or Vote of No Confidence

Yes = 13 No = 1Abstention = 3

C: Senator Marylise Caussinus: Stated her concern with salary and compensation based on her treatment.

Discussion on floor by several Senators on Salary issues across the Campus

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Announced the violations of the University Rules on interim chairs' positions across the campus.

Discussion on floor by several Senators on Violations of the University Rules on Interim Chair Positions

C: Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard: Mentioned concerns over not recognizing students' efforts for their contribution on the publication and scientific misconduct.

Discussion on floor by several Senators

New Business

N/A

Old Business

N/A



Dr. Rasoul Saneifard, Chair Dr. Edieth Wu, Vice Chair

Dr. J. Kenyatta Cavil, Secretary Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo, Treasurer Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano, Faculty Speaks Editor Dr. Vera Hawkins, Parliamentarian

FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

Committee Reports

N/A

Adjourn Meeting

Ask for the question. Senator Christopher Tymczak moved that the meeting be adjourned. Senator Lucy Ojode seconded the motion.

Meeting Adjourned 5:05pm