TSU announces new academic leaders for five colleges, schools

Posted on Thursday, June 13, 2019

Deans named for schools of business, law, public affairs; colleges of pharmacy & health sciences, liberal arts & behavioral sciences

The Texas Southern University Board of Regents approved the appointment of five academic deans at its June 13, 2019, meeting.

“Each of these deans is uniquely qualified to lead their respective areas,” said TSU President Dr. Austin A. Lane. “Through the hiring process, we focused on their ability to help the university advance its Top 5 priorities, which include student success and completion, academic program quality and research, culture, partnerships, and finances. With their mix of teaching and administrative experience, these leaders will bring new ideas and innovation that will benefit our students, faculty, staff and the entire Tiger community.


Dr. David Yen was named dean of the Jesse H. Jones School of Business. Since 2013, Dr. Yen has held both academic and administrative roles at the State University of New York (SUNY)-Oneonta, serving as founding dean and professor (2013-16), and most recently as full professor in the department of management, marketing and information systems. Prior to SUNY-Oneonta, Yen held faculty positions in the Farmer School of Business at Miami (OH) University from 1985-2013.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in computer science and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of Central Oklahoma, both in 1982, followed by a master’s degree in computer science and a doctorate in management information systems from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, both in 1985.





Joan R.M. Bullock was named dean of the Thurgood Marshall School of Law. She served as president and dean at the Thomas Jefferson School of Law (TJSL) in San Diego, CA, from 2017-18. TJSL is a private, independent law school with 32 full-time faculty, 59 administrative staff, and a budget of $27 million. From 2002-2017, she held several academic and administrative positions at Florida A&M University’s College of Law, including professor, interim director of admissions and recruitment, associate dean for teaching and faculty development, and associate dean for academic affairs.

Bullock earned a bachelor’s degree in legal and political theory from Michigan State University, a juris doctor of law from the University of Toledo College of Law, and a master’s degree in business administration (with a specialty in accounting and finance) from the University of Michigan. She is also licensed as a CPA in Michigan, owned her own law practice for 19 years, and, early in her career, spent one year as a product specialist for General Motors in Detroit, MI. She has been very involved in leadership roles with the American Bar Association and several state bar associations.


Dr. Needha Boutté-Queen was named dean of the College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences (COLABS).

Dr. Boutté-Queen has served as interim dean of COLABS since October 2018. Prior to that, she was department chair and professor of social work, in addition to her role as the associate accreditation liaison for the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC).  She began her tenure at TSU in 2006, and has also served as an interim assistant dean of student enhancement and academic success from 2012-2015 for COLABS. Prior to arriving at TSU in 2006, Dr. Boutté-Queen was an assistant professor of social work at the University of Houston Graduate College of Social Work and director of social work field education at the University of Houston Clear Lake.

She earned a bachelor’s degree in social work from Texas Southern University in 1993, a master’s degree in social work from the University of Chicago, and doctorate of philosophy from the University of Houston.


Dr. Rashid Mosavin was named dean of the College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences.

Since 2013, Dr. Mosavin has served as the executive associate dean at Loma Linda University School of Pharmacy in Loma Linda, CA. Prior to that role, he was an associate professor in the department of pharmacotherapy and outcomes science (2004-06), chair of the department of pharmaceutical sciences (2007-2011), and associate dean of academic affairs (2012-13). He also spent four years as a clinical assistant professor and an assistant director of ambulatory care pharmacy at the University of Illinois-Chicago’s College of Pharmacy from 2000-2004.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from the University of Kansas and a doctorate degree in molecular pharmacology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Mosavin also received a master’s in business administration from the University of Chicago.



Dr. George Kieh, Jr was named dean of the Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs.

Since 2009, Dr. Kieh has served in both administrative and academic roles at the University of West Georgia, most recently as the interim chair of the Department of Criminology (2018-19) and as a full professor of political science (2009-19). He also served as the dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 2009-10. Previously, Dr. Kieh held administrative positions at Morehouse College (chair of the Department of Political Science, 2002-05), Grand Valley State University (dean of international affairs, 2001-03), and several other institutions, including Illinois Wesleyan University and the University of Memphis.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of Liberia, followed by a master’s degree and doctorate of philosophy in political science from Northwestern University.

“We are excited about these new academic leaders,” said TSU Provost Dr. Kendall Harris. “Our search process was thorough and inclusive, and I’d like to thank all of the faculty, staff, administrators, alumni and community members who contributed by serving on the various committees and providing input into the selection process.”

All of the new deans are expected to begin their responsibilities this summer, prior to the start of the fall semester.

Category: Students, Faculty & Staff, Alumni, News Media

Press Contact

Office of Marketing & Communications

Last updated: 06/24/2019